“I just keep on dancin’…”

             Paul Rudd dancing is magical. Enjoy!

The week started with me fending off the sick of last week. Much to my dismay, this required slowing down. Per last week’s post, this is not something I’m good at. This made me think, “why do I feel guilty, lazy, or unproductive, when time to recover is necessary?” The problem is societal, as we live in a culture of busy. We’re not taught to be kind to ourselves, even when taking a much needed sick day.

Holding space

A friend recently invited me to attend a meeting for a women’s group called House of Your Heart. Last night, I attended the meeting, unsure of what to expect. Essentially, there’s a topic of discussion and participants can share what’s on their minds. The purpose of the group is to provide emotional support and tools to help women break unhealthy patterns of behavior and thought. We discussed what it means to hold space for ourselves and others, allowing us/them to be open and who we are. Throughout the discussion, a stark realization occurred: we are quick to hold space for others, but not ourselves. It really hit home. I left the HOYH meeting with a sense of clarity and a smile on my face. For more on holding space, check out this great blog from Heather Plett.

Skating, and more dancing!

My league’s new class of fresh meat started skating on Wednesday, and I couldn’t be more excited. Ten new skaters, eager to learn what they need to become scrimmage ready. What I love most about coaching is seeing all of the hard work come to fruition when a skill is perfected. “A-ha!” moments are the best. This group of skaters is especially determined, and I will enjoy observing their progress.

On Friday night, I had my first private dance lesson. One hour of learning to tango, foxtrot, rumba and swing is QUITE the workout, plus it’s fun. Also, how fabulous are these heels?

 12642964_10153262894545588_5183753877042186054_n

My dance floor adventures will continue for another month. Hopefully, I’ll do Fred and Ginger proud!

Another day, another challenge.

As mentioned last week, I’m participating in a 21 day healthy eating and fitness challenge through my gym. This week, working out in addition to skating was a little difficult. I was feeling a bit run down from recovering, and didn’t push myself as normal. As a result, the scale didn’t change (see below).

Starting weight: 222 lbs

1/30/16 weigh-in: 210 lbs

2/7/16 weigh-in: 210 lbs

Amount lost to date: 12 lbs

This week, part of the challenge requires mapping out my workout plan for the week. I’ll sit down tonight and put it together. Meal prep is in progress, with cauliflower and sweet potatoes roasting.  A few snapshots of meals this week are shown below. This morning’s breakfast (protein waffles), were pretty damn delicious.

Ezekiel toast with avocado, accompanied by beet/apple/carrot juice; banana-egg protein waffles with a side of chickpeas sauteed with peppers, onions, and smoked paprika. 

A momentous occasion

Saturday was an exceptionally great day. Primarily because I eliminated a debt that’s been weighing on me for a few years. I am happy and grateful to say that particular debt is no longer hanging over my head. It was a debt owed to a family member, and the relationship became strained as a result. Free at last! 🙂

 

Ellie Goulding’s Keep on Dancin’ is the inspiration for this week’s post. Keep dancing, friends. As always, email me at bootifulbanshee@gmail.com with questions or suggestions.

Have a great week!

B

 

Leave a Reply

